Pro Blog 2

Standard

Welcome back! So as you know, I am currently attending broadcasting school. Have you ever wondered what it was like at broadcasting school? It’s actually pretty neat. I never thought I would have an internet radio show, and I learned all bout how to be a radio host while attending broadcasting school. I do my internship with a deejay at a family bar/grill. Of course, after 8:00 in the evening, it becomes more of an adult atmosphere on friday nights. however, Friday night is the only night that the deejay is there, but there’s also live bands that play every friday night unless there is a game on. If there is a game on, I don’t get to do really anything because people don’t care about the music, they care about the game. With the live bands, I get to do some work, unfortunately, I’m searching for a new internship because I’m not learning as much as I thought I would. That is no fault of my instructor, let me just say that, he is a good person, and very professional. Sometimes things just don’t always turn out the way you want it to, and that’s part of the learning. We have students that intern at news stations and radio stations, sports events and they love their internships.

Here is an example of a fun video project a former student from the Ohio Center for Broadcasting had fun filming and producing. Reminder that the content in the video is to entertain and the information regarding tuition money is just poking fun and should not be taken seriously.

There are also plenty of audio things you can do if video isn’t your forte (but you’ll still have to do it for a grade). You will learn how to do blogs such as WordPress, and you can even learn to be proficient i social media programs you never thought you would use like LinkedIn (twitter in my case). You will learn that having a SoundCloud account is incredibly helpful for uploading audio into your blogs. I didn’t think I needed SoundCloud, but I was wrong. In fact, I’m about to use it right now to add in an audio clip from a previous radio show I hosted.

 

      If you ever decide to learn more about the amazing world of broadcasting, you can go to beoniar.com or you can call

216-503-5900. I hope i was somewhat insightful and maybe I’ll see you in the halls of our awesome school.

About Vanessa Shackelford

I am a student at the Ohio Center for Broadcasting, I am a veteran of the United States Army, and I love expanding my knowledge about the world and I love to travel. I am hoping to launch a career traveling with National Geographic as either a photographer (or film producer if need be, but photography is the ultimate goal).

Leave a Reply

