Pro Blog 4

Standard

BROADCASTING!!! That’s all I’ve been telling you about these past four posts. But I do it because it’s probably one of my better choices. I believe I can apply the things I have learned here into my future goal in photography. I have taken the liberty to attach a photo that I took of my friends after we covered setting up a proper and good shot here at OCB.

fly When you are setting up a shot, it requires a lot of time and patience. These are all things we learned while attending OCB. We learned how to set up a shot inside, outside, how to adjust cameras so everything looks good (no unnecessary shadowing, brightness issues, etc) I know every young girl in her 20’s says photography is a passion of theirs, but it’s so much more than a hobby to me. It’s everything I want in my life. To travel the world, learn about exotic new cultures, foods, people, wildlife, the list goes on and on! Attending broadcasting school, I learned to film and produce video, produce audio, and even write scripts for videos. What if you wanted to learn how to do all of that without paying? I guess you could get something along the lines of Film Making for Dummies on Amazon.com for probably around $20. But that doesn’t give you the hands on teaching that you may need. I’m an interactive learner. I can’t stare at textbooks or computer screens all day. (Let’s be professional here) I need to touch things, hold them, work with things (let’s use a camera as an example): You could show me a diagram of it, but I won’t fully know how it works until after I’ve held it and used it a few times. If you ever have a shred of doubt in your precious mind that broadcasting isn’t for you, watch this video of a former student of the Ohio Center for Broadcasting:

  We also teach you how to put cool videos from youtube.com to your awesome WordPress.com page. Don’t have WordPress? The’ll show you how to make a totally awesome/professional webpage for yourself!

About Vanessa Shackelford

I am a student at the Ohio Center for Broadcasting, I am a veteran of the United States Army, and I love expanding my knowledge about the world and I love to travel. I am hoping to launch a career traveling with National Geographic as either a photographer (or film producer if need be, but photography is the ultimate goal).

Leave a Reply

